Truepic alternatives
How the tools that verify photos at capture compare on install, C2PA, existing photos and price. Written by Rial, so every competitor fact links to the vendor’s own page.
By Tiago Palladino, Rial · Updated October 2026Who wrote this, and how
Rial is one of the tools on this page, so read it with that in mind. To keep it honest, every fact about another vendor comes from that vendor’s own site, linked in the sources, and the page says where Truepic is stronger. Checked on October 9, 2026. If something here is out of date, write to info@rial.io and we will correct it.
Capture at the source, or detection after the fact
Capture at the source
The photo is taken through the tool, which records the device, the place and the time as it happens. Truepic, TrueScreen, ProofMode, Numbers Protocol and Rial work this way.
Detection after the fact
The tool scores a file you already have and returns a probability. Hive, Sightengine and Reality Defender work this way. Useful at scale, and a different job.
Side by side
| Criterion | Rial | Truepic Vision | TrueScreen | ProofMode | Numbers Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approach | Capture at the source, plus audit of existing photos | Capture at the source (inspection platform) | Certified capture with legal value | Open-source capture app and SDKs | Provenance and signing, on blockchain |
| Capture with nothing to install | Yes, browser link | Yes, mobile browser option | Apps and web portal | No, app | Apps and SDKs |
| Native SDKs and API | iOS, Android, API, Node, MCP | SDK and API | API and MCP | Android and iOS SDKs | iOS, Android and Node SDKs |
| C2PA | Yes | Co-founder of the standard | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Photo of a screen check | Yes, every photo | Yes (picture of a picture) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| AI-generated image check | Yes, every photo | Not stated on its fraud page | Deepfake detection on Business plan | Not stated | Not stated |
| Checks photos taken elsewhere | Yes (Audit) | Not stated | No, per third-party comparison | No | No |
| Entry price | 5 photos free, then US$10 for 50 | US$1,000 monthly minimum | Up to €2 per certification | Free | US$20 a month, or US$0.001 per signature |
| Buy without a sales call | Yes | No, demo request | Yes, Standard plan | Yes | Yes |
Checked on October 9, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the vendor’s site, not that the product lacks it.
Where Truepic is stronger
The standard
Truepic co-founded the C2PA, the open standard for content credentials, in 2021 and sits on its steering committee.
The chip
Its C2PA library is built into Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5, so supported phones can sign at the chip level.
Claims systems
In September 2026 Truepic announced an integration with Verisk ClaimSearch, used widely by US insurers.
Track record
Years in insurance and inspections, named customers, and more than 50 fraud tests by its own count.
Where Rial is different
No minimum
The first 5 photos are free, then US$0.20 per photo in packs. Buy by card, or let an AI agent buy credits under a monthly cap.
Photos you already have
Rial Audit checks existing photos for AI generation and matches online, next to live capture in the same account.
Checks on every photo
Every live capture is checked for photos of a screen and for AI generation, and returns a verdict you can branch on.
Link or SDK
The browser link carries device attestation and a C2PA credential. The native SDKs add a signature from the phone’s secure hardware.
Which one fits
You run a large insurance operation on Verisk
Truepic’s ClaimSearch integration is built for you.
You need EU legal-value certification
TrueScreen is built around that.
You need free, open-source capture for journalism
ProofMode.
You want to start this week, pay per photo, and also check old photos
Rial. The first 5 photos are free.
Common questions
What is the main alternative to Truepic?
It depends on the job. For capture inside an insurance or inspection flow, Rial and TrueScreen are the closest. For free, open-source capture, ProofMode. For scoring files you already have, a detection API such as Hive, Sightengine or Reality Defender.
How much does Truepic cost?
Truepic publishes its Vision pricing: a Flex plan with a US$1,000 monthly minimum, a Standard plan from US$1,450 a month with US$58 per inspection as its example rate, and custom Enterprise pricing. Every plan starts with a demo request.
Is there a Truepic alternative with no monthly minimum?
Rial sells photo credits with no minimum: the first 5 photos are free, then packs of 50, 250 or 1000 photos for US$10, US$50 or US$200, bought without talking to sales.
Do these tools need the user to install an app?
Not all of them. Truepic Vision and Rial both offer capture in the phone browser. ProofMode is an app. Native SDKs, where offered, add stronger device guarantees inside your own app.
Can any of them check photos that were not taken through them?
Rial Audit checks photos you already have for AI generation and for matches online. Detection APIs do the same at scale. Truepic does not say on its site that it audits photos captured elsewhere.
Vendor sources
- Truepic Vision pricing
- Truepic Vision implementation options (apps, browser, SDK)
- Truepic fraud prevention checks
- C2PA founding announcement
- Truepic and Qualcomm, Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5
- Truepic and Verisk ClaimSearch (September 2026)
- TrueScreen apps and API
- TrueScreen pricing
- ProofMode and C2PA (Guardian Project)
- Numbers Protocol Capture pricing
- VentaVid, insurance image fraud tools compared (October 2026)
- Rial credits and pricing